Lib Dem Mendip District Councillors

Wards in the Somerton & Frome Constituency

Ammerdown                                     Beckington and Selwood
Butleigh and Baltonsborough Coleford and Holcombe
Cranmore, Doulting and Nunney Creech
Frome Berkley Down Frome College
Frome Keyford Frome Market
Frome Oakfield Frome Park
Postlebury   Rode and Norton St Philip
The Pennards and Ditcheat  
The Cabinet:
  • Cllr Ros Wyke - Leader of Mendip District Council
  • Cllr Janine Nash - Deputy Leader of Mendip District Council
  • Cllr Barry O’Leary - Portfolio Holder for Enterprise and Finance
  • Cllr Simon Carswell - Portfolio Holder for Corporate Services and Performance Management
  • Cllr Tom Ronan - Portfolio Holder for Strategic Policy and Climate Change
  • Cllr Nick Cottle - Portfolio Holders for Neighbourhood Services and Enforcement
  • Cllr Heather Shearer - Portfolio Holders for Community Health Service and Enforcement
  • Cllr Richard Pinnock - Portfolio Holders for Housing Services
  • Cllr Damon Hooton - Portfolio Holders for Development Management (Planning) and Enforcement Services
  • Cllr Janine Nash - Portfolio Holders for Planning Policy and Local Plan
  • Cllr Peter Goater - Portfolio Holders for Economic Development

The council’s committee structure and chairs and vice chairs are as follows:

  • Audit committee: Chair - Cllr Josh Burr, Vice Chair - Cllr Liz Leyshon
  • Licensing Board: Chair - Cllr Sam Phripp, Vice Chair – Cllr Simon Carswell
  • Planning Board: Chair – Cllr Damon Hooton, Vice Chair – Cllr Nigel Hewitt-Cooper
  • Scrutiny Board: Chair - Cllr Philip Ham, Vice Chair – Cllr Garfield Kennedy
  • Standards Committee: Chair – Cllr Richard Pinnock, Vice Chair – Cllr Heather Shearer
  • Assets of Community Value Panel: Chair – Cllr Janine Nash, Vice Chair – Cllr Peter Goater
  • Council Tax Setting Committee: Chair – Cllr Janine Nash, Vice Chair – Cllr Barry O’Leary
  • Wells Recreation Ground Trust: Chair – Cllr Barry O’Leary, Vice Chair – Cllr Janine Nash
  • Phoenix Board: Chair – Cllr Ros Wyke, Vice Chair – Cllr Janine Nash
For more information about Mendip District Council’s councillors, committees and boards and for a full list of public meetings, please visit or contact Mendip District Council’s customer services on 0300 303 8588.
Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.